Mission Accomplished!

I laid down for a much needed night’s sleep on Friday at 9PM.  It was a jam packed day for me – full day of work followed up with kids swimming lessons and dinner.  I was tired, all I wanted to do was lay down and close my eyes.  I scooted under the covers and got my belly situated in a comfy spot – perfect for a long rest.  I barely shut my eyes when there was a POP! followed by an intense contraction.  I didn’t feel the water release right away, so I didn’t think about my water breaking, but the short walk from my bed to the bathroom was all I needed for confirmation.  I got cleaned up enough to walk out into the family room and let Brian know my water broke.  We were prepped for this moment (not our first rodeo), but honestly I think we were both hoping to get at least one more night of sleep before it happened.  We packed our bags, called our oldest son to have him come over and take care of his siblings, and I called the parents to let them know it was “go time”.

Got to the hospital around 9:40PM.  We were checked in and headed to our labor room by 10PM.  Got hooked up to monitors, got an IV started, saw my doctor, and started active labor within the hour.  The epideral was in shortly thereafter, along with a catheter.  Everything seemed to be going as planned.  It was right around midnight that things got fun.  My doctor showed up and checked my progress.  I was at 7 cm and effaced.  After the check, my nurse was adjusting the belly monitors and belts.  Within minutes my epideral stopped working and contractions were coming hard and fast.  The nurse told me I could use the Bolus Button (basically pain med on demand), so I pushed it and immediately felt nauseated and started vomiting.  I rolled over and the urge to push was immediate and real.  The only people in the labor room at that time was Brian and the nurse, but within seconds the labor room was full of nurses.  It was time, I couldn’t hold in the baby and had started to push.  For a twin birth, the norm is to labor in a regular room and then, when it’s time, go to the operating room for the birth of the babies.  It was a mad rush to get me into the operating room and situated.  I remember passing the parents in the hallway on my way to the OR.  That was the last time they saw me until the next day.  I can’t imagine their thoughts at that moment.  I wish I could have said something to reassure them, but there was no time. By the time I rolled into the OR, I was feeling everything, the epideral was definitely not working.  Within three pushes baby girl was out.

Now, without the epideral, immediately I was thinking – holy moly that hurt, not sure if I can do it again.  You would think that the birth of baby girl was the ultimate pain, but no – actually it was the doctor’s manipulation of baby boy to keep him in a head down position, along with attempts to keep my cervix open, that had me losing my mind.  It lasted for 10-20 minutes, all the while I was losing a significant amount of blood.  Once the amount of blood loss reached the doctor’s comfort level threshold, he said it was time to change the plan.  Time for a cesarean, time to get the baby boy out and time to stop the bleeding.  Since the epideral wasn’t working, the decision was made to go with general anesthesia, which meant Brian had to leave the room, I would be completely knocked out and intubated, and then undergo the c-section.  My doctor is the best OB in Reno, has been practicing for over 20 years, had delivered many multiples, had even delivered breeched babies, but he had never had a patient deliver one twin vaginally and have to deliver the second baby via c-section.  It was kind of funny at the time (at least for me) – I told him I was happy to be his first.

Of course, everything worked out, because my doctor is a ROCKSTAR, along with the other doctors, nurses, and staff involved in the procedure.  Around 4AM I woke up in the recovery room with Brian by my side.  The doctor checked me out one last time and told me the babies were good and with their parents.  I was able to go home Sunday afternoon and I did get to spend some time with the parents and babies before I left the hospital; and we have talked or emailed each other every day.

The babies were both ~5 lbs, ~18 in long and perfect.  I am pumping, trying to get my milk supply going for the babies.  It has been slow going getting the milk to come in, but I guess that is normal after a c-section???  Apparently the baby boy was a challenge to get out and the doctor had to get a little aggressive getting him out – which explains my beyond uncomfortable ab and rib pain.  Hey, go big or go home right?

Emotionally, I feeling good.  I think, since I do not have newborns to take care of and I am able to rest, that I will recover quickly physically.  I’m hoping that since I will not be sleep deprived and I will be pumping, I will not have any postpartum issues.

Yeah, so that’s my story, so far.  I doubt this is the end of this story.  I can tell you, I will not be having any more babies, but I do look forward to watching my friends raise their beautiful new babies.

Also, I couldn’t have made it through this experience without the support of my husband, my kids, the parents, and all of you.  Thank you so much for all of the “likes”, “hearts/love”, wonderful comments, prayers, and counsel.  You all made me smile when I was feeling down, you made me feel like there’s nothing I couldn’t do or get through this last year.  Thank you, thank you – each one of you – I see you!

Much love and gratitude,

Brady

6 thoughts on “Mission Accomplished!

  1. The gift of life is amazing, and to give this gift to friends is unbelievable. Brady Jo you are a true angel, what a precious gift of love that you have given these babies and parents. I will always remember this unbelievable journey you have shared with us, thank-you for this gift of life, love and friendship. Love you ❤️️

    Like

Leave a comment