Ups, Downs, and Guts!

Sometimes the expectations you have in mind for recovery are not exactly what happens in real life.  I came home from the hospital Sunday afternoon looking forward to recovery at home.  I was feeling not great, but not horrible and able to tolerate the discomfort and soreness associated with the all the operating room fun – the C-section and the manipulation of my guts, ribs, and who knows what else they did to get to the baby boy and clean up my uterus.

Monday, still feeling ok.  Good enough to eat and drink and pump.

Tuesday, still ok, not great – little more pain and bloating, but tolerable.  I was able to take a quick trip to a lactation boutique to get some pumping supplies.  But, later in the day, I was down and out and in serious pain.  Didn’t want to eat or drink.  Didn’t even want to take any pain meds at this point, so I stopped taking the narcotic doses and only took the ibuprofen when I just couldn’t stand the pain.  My last meal Tuesday evening was a little rice cereal.  Attempted to sleep in my bed this night, but had too much pain laying down that I moved out to the couch (thank goodness for reclining chairs).

No eating, barely drinking, lots of vomiting, lots of bloating, and lots of sleep from Wednesday morning through Saturday morning.  I was finally able to eat a cup of oatmeal and kept it down all day on Saturday.

Today, Sunday, I’m feeling 100% better!  My guts seem to be working again.  Bloating has subsided, pain has decreased significantly, and I’m moving around easier.

Not sure what exactly triggered my guts to shut down – drugs, anesthesia, crazy fun in the operating room, etc.  What I do know is that although I continued pumping throughout the last week – my milk wasn’t coming in and I was only able to offer a couple mls of colostrum each day.  I can honestly say – I gave everything I could give and perhaps if I didn’t have the gut issue, I could have given more – this has been the hardest part emotionally for me… darn guts!

Alas, the babies & parents are doing great.  Hopefully they are heading home today or tomorrow.  I’m so happy to be feeling better.  I’m looking forward to kicking ass all over this recovery and getting back to life in the fast lane.

img_8548

My heart still beats, I’m still breathing.  Everything is going to be alright.

*Thank God for Moms. My Mom stayed with me and my family Sun – Fri – keeping my family fed, the clothes clean, and watching over me.  Thanks Mom!  I love you!

img_8515

Mom’s love and presence makes everything better.

Leave a comment